April 5, 2005, which has championed the idea of recognition for mid-major programs, announces the creation of the “Hugh Durham Mid-Major Coach of the Year Award.”

Previously recognized as the Mid-Major Coach of the Year award, CI renamed the award to honor the recently retired Durham.

“This is something we have been planning for a while,” said Joe Dwyer who is the editor-in-chief and co-founder of “I have known coach Durham for many years and he is easily one of the best people I have ever worked with. He is a great coach, but he’s an even better person.”

Durham, who began his coaching career in 1966, built national programs at Florida State – where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years – and at Georgia – where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.

“It’s an honor that Joe (Dwyer) and Angela (Lento) have decided to do this,” said Durham. “There are a lot of more deserving coaches that they could have honored so this is very humbling. I have always considered myself as ‘coach’s coach so this is a very nice honor.”

In addition to Florida State and Georgia, the 67-year old Durham also left his mark on yet another basketball program. In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins’ all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.

Durham’s career reached new heights in 2003 when he became the 32nd coach all-time to win 600 career games and just the 17th D-I coach to eclipse 1,000 career games.

“It’s great that has honored Hugh Durham with this award,” said Oklahoma head coach Kelvin Sampson. “Hugh is one of the great people to ever coach. It was a bad day for our profession when it was announced that he was retiring, but this award will keep his name in the forefront for years to come. I told that I would like to be on any committee that selects a recipient of an award with Hugh Durham’s name on it.”

Durham, who is the only coach in NCAA history to be all-time winningest coach at three

Gregg Marshall was the recipient of the 2007 Hugh Durham Coach of the Year Award presented by

After leading Winthrop to a school record 29 wins Gregg Marshall was the recipient of the 2007 Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year award.

different Division I schools, is the second retired coach to be honored by In March 2003, CI renamed its’ National Coach of the Year Award to honor Mount St. Mary’s head coach Jim Phelan.

As with the Phelan Award, will create a committee to select the recipient of the Durham Award, which will be announced annually at the Final Four.

• Ranked 8th in career wins among active Division I coaches (633)
• Ranks 25th all-time in career wins in Division I (633)
• Ranked 2nd in most seasons among active D-I coaches (37)
• Ranked 3rd in most games among active D-I coaches (1,062)
• ONLY coach in NCAA history to be all-time winningest coach at 3 different Division I schools.
• 1 of only 11 coaches to take 2 schools to the Final Four
• 1 of only 8 coaches to win 200 games at 2 Division I schools
• 1 of only 7 coaches to win 100 games at 3 Division I schools
• Eight 20-plus win seasons
• 15 postseason appearances
• Voted conference coach of the year 5 times
• Led team to 3 conference championships
• Has coached 9 All-Americans
• Has coached 15 current or former NBA players
• All-time winningest coach in 99-year history of Georgia basketball (297 wins)
• All-time winningest coach (by pct.) in the 57-year history of Florida State basketball, 230-95 (.708)
• Elected to Florida State University, Kentucky HS and state of Florida Halls of Fame
• Naismith Award winner for Outstanding Contribution to Men’s Basketball by Atlanta Tip-Off Club (2003)