About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2016 Hugh Durham Award

Sacramento State's Brian Katz accepts the 2015 Hugh Durham award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016


HOUSTON, TX -- Yale's James Jones is the recipient of the 2016 Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year award.

Jones led Yale to an historic season, which included the first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1962 and the school's first-ever NCAA Tournament victory. Yale won 23 games, which was the most in a season since the 1906-07 team went 30-7-1.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the nation's top mid-major coach. 

In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools. 

He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.


Chris Beard, Little Rock
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's
Ken Burmeister, Incarnate Word
Jon Coffman, IFPW
Bryce Drew, Valparaiso
Bill Evans, Idaho State
Dana Ford, Tennessee State
Eran Ganot, Hawaii
Murray Garvin, South Carolina State
Mitch Henderson, Princeton
James Jones, Yale
Kevin Keatts, UNCW
Dan Majerle, Grand Canyon
Matt McCall, Chattanooga
Nick McDevitt, UNC Asheville
Marvin Menzies, New Mexico State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Steve Piekel, Stony Brook
King Rice, Monmouth
Marty Simmons, Evansville
Brad Underwood, Stephen F. Austin

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade


2019-20 College basketball preview:


Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019