2014 Hugh Durham Award

April 4, 2014


DALLAS, TX  -- IPFW's Tony Jasick is the recipient of the 2014 Hugh Durham award. 

Jasick led the Mastodons to a program-record 25 wins in 2013-14, falling in the Summit League Tournament championship game, another first for the program. His 25 wins is tied for the ninth-most in Summit League history, while the teams' 2,774 points during the season and its 285 three-point field goals made are the fourth and fifth highest totals in Summit League history, respectively.
The squad hosted and won a first-round CIT Tournament game against Akron, before falling in the second round to VMI, an eventual semifinalist in the tournament. He helped guide IPFW to its highest RPI in program history (115), with two wins over programs with RPI's below 100.

The Hugh Durham Award is given annually to the nation's top mid-major coach. The award is named in honor of Hugh Durham who had retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just twelve coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983). He is the only coach among that group to have led both schools to their lone Final Four appearance.


Mike Brennan American
Rick Byrd Belmont
Tim Cluess Iona
Steve Hawkins Western Michigan
Bob Hoffman Mercer
Ron Hunter Georgia State
Tony Jasick IPFW
Tod Kowalczyk Toledo
Gregg Marshall Wichita State
LeVelle Moton North Carolina Central
Jeff Neubauer Eastern Kentucky
Saul Phillips North Dakota State
Monte Ross Delaware
Brad Underwood Stephen F. Austin
Will Wade Chattanooga


The Hugh Durham Award, which is presented annually to the top Division I mid-major coach in college basketball, is named after a coach who built winning programs at three different universities.
In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools. 
He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.
Coaches of teams in the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, ASUN, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, MEAC, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, SWAC, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast.
The recipient of of the 2021 award will be announced on April 1.

2021: Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
2020: Steve Forbes, ETSU
2019: Darian DeVries, Drake

2018: Ryan Odom, UMBC

2017: Rod Barnes, CSU Bakersfield

2016: James Jones, Yale

2015: Brian Katz, Sacramento State

2014: Tony Jasick, IPFW

2013: Danny Kaspar, Stephen F. Austin

2012: Eddie Payne, USC Upstate

: Rick Byrd, Belmont
2010: Mike Young, Wofford
2009: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State
2008: Keno Davis, Drake
2007: Greg Marshall, Winthrop
2006: Pat Flannery, Bucknell
2005: Bob Thomason, Pacific

The Hugh Durham award committee is a 30 member panel, consisting of five current division I head coaches, five retired head coaches, 10 current athletic directors and/or conference administrators, five members of the national media and five staff members. 
The Hugh Durham award is presented annually to the top division I mid-major head coach as voted on by the award committee. Eligible coaches must in the following conferences or leagues: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast and Western Athletic.
NOTE: The basis for mid-major designation is based on the criteria established by the Mid-Major Top 25 ® which was created by and is a registered trademark.
March 30: Finalists anounnced.
Apriil 2: Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year announced
The recipients of the 17 national awards, presented by, are announced annually at the site of the NCAA men’s division I basketball championship.
The recipient of the 2018 Hugh Durham award will be announced on April 2 in San Antonio, site of the Men's NCAA Basketball Championship.. 

Champign Image
Champign Image
Champign Image