About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Hugh Durham Award

April 3, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- CSU Bakersfield’s Rod Barnes is the recipient of the 2017 Hugh Durham National Coach of the Year award.

Barnes led the Roadrunners to their first-ever WAC regular season title and the most wins (25) in school history. He capped off the season by leading Bakersfield to the semifinals of the NIT, becoming the first-ever No. 8 seed to advance to the semis.

“Rod Barnes has done a phenomenal job of building CSU Bakersfield into a perennial contender in the WAC,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “What he has done over the past two seasons is as good of two-year run as any mid-major program in college basketball.”

CSU Bakersfield posted a 12-2 mark in Western Athletic Conference play, their best-ever record in the WAC, and the ‘Runners were also 6-1 on the road.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the nation's top mid-major coach.  In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools. 

He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.


Rod Barnes CSU Bakersfield
John Becker Vermont
John Brannen Northern Kentucky
Rick Byrd Belmont
Scott Cross UT Arlington
Nathan Davis Bucknell
Joe Dooley FGCU
John Dunne Saint Peter's
Steve Forbes ETSU
Mitch Henderson Princeton
Brian Jones North Dakota
Kevin Keatts UNCW
Jim Les UC Davis
LeVelle Moton North Carolina Central
Wes Miller UNC Greensboro
Dan Muller Illinois State
Ryan Odom UMBC
Mark Slessinger New Orleans
Craig Smith South Dakota
Anthony Stewart UT Martin


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade


2019-20 College basketball preview:


Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019